Poll: Who Is More at Fault in the Solheim Cup Controversy?

September 20, 2015

Before the U.S. squad stormed back to win the Solheim Cup 14 1/2 to 13 1/2 over Europe on Sunday, a controversial putt on the 17th green was the story of the day (and still will be afterward).

U.S. member Alison Lee missed a birdie putt but then picked up her ball when Europe’s Suzann Pettersen and Brittany Lincicome started walking off the green. Pettersen said it was never conceded, and an umpired awarded the hole to Europe. Pettersen and Charley Hull won the fourball match 2 up.

“I missed it but I had just under two feet, like a foot and a half left coming back. And I looked at it and I thought I heard it was good,” Lee said. ”To me it looked good. I mean, it was a really short putt, easy putt. And at the same time Charley was walking off the green and Suzann was already off the green so there was no doubt in my mind that that putt was good. I didn’t even think twice about it. So I just picked it up.”

Said Europe captain Carin Koch: ”We all feel bad for Alison. She made a mistake and it’s very unfortunate. We don’t want things like that to happen. She made a mistake in the rules of golf. We had a rules meeting and we clearly stated that you have to concede a putt very clearly and she didn’t go with the rule. The rules are the rules. You have to follow the rules.”

U.S. captain Juli Inkster told NBC: ”It’s just B.S. as far as I’m concerned.”

So who do you think is more at fault? Let us know in the comments section below!

For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @golf_com on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.