The Open 2019: What you need to know for Friday’s second round at Royal Portrush

July 18, 2019

The first round of the 2019 Open Championship at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland is in the books, and Thursday’s action did not disappoint. But now it’s on to Friday’s second round. Here’s everything you need to know before the first tee shots are in the air.

Key Storylines

Home Sweet Holmes

After 18 holes of golf at The Open Championship, the sole leader is an unexpected one: J.B. Holmes. The 37-year-old Holmes shot a five-under 66 on Thursday to take a one-stroke lead over Ireland’s Shane Lowry into Friday. The Kentucky-native Holmes, who racked up six birdies over his first 18 holes, has never won a major title. His best finish in a major came at the 2016 Open Championship, where he finished third. Holmes only has five PGA Tour wins on his resume, including the Genesis Open this past February. Holmes tees off at 4:25 a.m. ET on Friday morning alongside Ernie Els and Abraham Ancer.

King Koepka in the mix

It’s another major championship, and Brooks Koepka is once again in the mix. The four-time major champion is just two shots off the lead after shooting a three-under 68 during Thursday’s first round. His first 18 holes consisted of four birdies and just one bogey. The 29-year-old Koepka has been dominant on golf’s biggest stages over the last three years. He won the PGA Championship this past May and finished second to Gary Woodland last month at the U.S. Open. Koepka is in prime position to take control of the leaderboard over the weekend, and he’ll resume his work at 3:03 a.m. ET on Friday morning alongside Louis Oosthuizen and Shubhankar Sharma.

Getty Images

Tiger and Rory fighting to survive

Thursday was one of those “no good very bad” days for both Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy. The Northern Ireland native McIlroy was the odds-on favorite to win coming into the fourth and final major of the year, while no one in this year’s field has won more Claret Jugs than Woods. Despite that, both appear heading home with missed cut finishes this week unless they can catch fire during Friday’s second round.

While Woods posted a seven-over 78, McIlroy carded an eight-over 79 during Thursday’s first round. Woods’ scorecard consisted of six bogeys and a double bogey, while McIlroy’s had a bogey, double bogey, triple bogey, and quadruple bogey. The cut line is hovering around one over heading into Friday, so Woods and McIlroy will each need big performances to have a shot at the weekend. If not, their combined 19 major victories and four Open titles will be flying home tomorrow.

McIlroy tees off on Friday at 10:10 a.m. ET alongside Gary Woodland and Paul Casey, while Woods will be going off at 5:09 a.m. ET with Matt Wallace and Patrick Reed.

Weather Forecast

Royal Portrush showcased just about every season and possible weather scenario during Thursday’s first round. From pouring rain and wind to sunny skies and warm temperatures, players got a taste of everything the Open Championship can throw at them. From the looks of Friday’s weather forecast, players should be prepared for much of the same.

There will be cooler temperatures in the morning, with highs in the low 50s. After that, rain will be on and off throughout the day. The forecast predicts at least a 50% chance of rain for much of the day. However, the wind is supposed to remain steady. Here’s a full breakdown of what to expect from the weather for Friday.

Friday's conditions are likely to mirror that of the first round.

How to watch Friday’s second round

TV schedule (ET)
1:30 a.m.-4 p.m. (Golf Channel)

Streaming Schedule (ET)
All feeds can be viewed via, the Golf Channel App, NBC Sports App, NBC Sports connected devices, and

Second Round TV Broadcast: 1:30 a.m.-4 p.m.
Early Featured Group: 4-9 a.m.
3 Hole Channel: 4 a.m.-2 p.m.
Late Featured Group: 9 a.m.-3 p.m.

British Open Tee Times: Friday’s Second Round (ET)

(a) Denotes amateur

1:35 a.m. – Tom Lehman, Joaquin Niemann, Miguel Angel Jimenez
1:46 a.m. – Byeong Hun An, Jorge Campillo, Chris Wood
1:57 a.m. – Joel Dahmen, Adri Arnaus, Dimitrios Papadatos
2:08 a.m. – Stewart Cink, Rory Sabbatini, Innchoon Hwang
2:19 a.m. – Erik van Rooyen, Kurt Kitayama, Jake McLeod
2:30 a.m. – Ryan Fox, Shaun Norris, Dongkyu Jang
2:41 a.m. – Tyrrell Hatton, Keith Mitchell, Thomas Pieters
2:52 a.m. – Justin Thomas, Tommy Fleetwood, Thorbjorn Olesen
3:03 a.m. – Brooks Koepka, Louis Oosthuizen, Shubhankar Sharma
3:14 a.m. – Billy Horschel, Jazz Janewattananond, Aaron Wise
3:25 a.m. – Jordan Spieth, Marc Leishman, Danny Willett
3:36 a.m. – Cameron Smith, Adam Hadwin, David Lipsky
3:47 a.m. – Paul Lawrie, Chez Reavie, Justin Harding
4:03 a.m. – Takumi Kanaya (a), Tom Lewis, Brandon Stone
4:14 a.m. – Lucas Glover, Joost Luiten, Nino Bertasio
4:25 a.m. – Ernie Els, J.B. Holmes, Abraham Ancer
4:36 a.m. – Brandt Snedeker, Lee Westwood, Brian Harman
4:47 a.m. – Justin Rose, Tony Finau, Lucas Bjerregaard
4:58 a.m. – Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley
5:09 a.m. – Tiger Woods, Matt Wallace, Patrick Reed
5:20 a.m. – Jon Rahm, Patrick Cantlay, Matt Kuchar
5:31 a.m. – Kevin Streelman, Doc Redman, Robert Rock
5:42 a.m. – Adrian Otaegui, Yuta Ikeda, Isidro Benitez
5:53 a.m. – Patton Kizzire, Sang Hyun Park, Yuki Inamori
6:04 a.m. – Yoshinori Fujimoto, Doyeob Mun, Andrew Wilson
6:15 a.m. – Gunn Charoenkul, Yosuke Asaji, Ashton Turner
6:36 a.m. – Darren Clarke, James Sugrue (a), Charley Hoffman
6:47 a.m. – Emiliano Grille, Sung Kang, Thomas Thurloway (a)
6:58 a.m. – Andy Sullivan, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Alexander Levy
7:09 a.m. – Chan Kim, Zander Lombard, Brandon Wu (a)
7:20 a.m. – Richard Sterne, Romain Langasque, Matthias Schmid (a)
7:31 a.m. – Padraig Harrington, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Andrew Putnam
7:42 a.m. – Bubba Watson, Eddie Pepperell, Rafa Cabrera-Bello
7:53 a.m. – Phil Mickelson, Shane Lowry, Branden Grace
8:04 a.m. – Alex Noren, Mike Lorenzo-Vera, Sam Locke
8:15 a.m. – Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, CT Pan
8:26 a.m. – Ryan Palmer, Andrea Pavan, Dylan Frittelli
8:37 a.m. – Kyle Stanley, Robert MacIntyre, Andrew Johnston
8:48 a.m. – Mikko Korhonen, Oliver Wilson, Curtis Knipes (a)
9:04 a.m. – Ian Poulter, Sungjae Im, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
9:15 a.m. – Henrik Stenson, Xander Schauffele, Graeme McDowell
9:26 a.m. – Haotong Li, Russell Knox, Bernd Wiesberger
9:37 a.m. – Jason Kokrak, Connor Syme, Austin Connelly
9:48 a.m. – Zach Johnson, David Duval, Corey Conners
9:59 a.m. – Francesco Molinari, Bryson DeChambeau, Adam Scott
10:10 a.m. – Rory McIlroy, Gary Woodland, Paul Casey
10:21 a.m. – Rickie Fowler, Kevin Kisner, Hideki Matsuyama
10:32 a.m. – Jim Furyk, Si Woo Kim, Jimmy Walker
10:43 a.m. – Luke List, Alexander Bjork, Paul Waring
10:54 a.m. – Shugo Imahira, Nate Lashley, Benjamin Hebert
11:05 a.m. – Mikumu Horikawa, Callum Shinkwin, Garrick Porteous
11:16 a.m. – Prom Messawat, Matthew Baldwin, Jack Senior

To receive GOLF’s all-new newsletters, subscribe for free here.