Tiger Woods made a mess of the first hole in his second round at the BMW Championship, finishing with a double-bogey 6. That score got uglier after his round. In the scoring tent, officials told Woods that when he was removing loose impediments from around his ball on the first hole, his ball moved slightly. Woods disagreed but was charged with two strokes anyway.
2 of 9Michael Cohen/Getty Images
In the third round of the BMW Championship, U.S. Open champ Justin Rose was making a practice swing in the fairway when his divot flew forward and hit his golf ball causing it to move. The flap resulted in a frustrating one-stroke penalty for the Englishman.
3 of 9Patrick Semansky/AP
On Friday at the PGA Championship, veteran pro Woody Austin had tried out a new driving iron on the range. Unfortunately, Austin forgot to remove it from his bag before his round. Upon noticing the club on the third hole, Austin was charged four strokes for having a 15th club in his bag for two holes.
4 of 9John W. McDonough/Sports Illustrated
The holy grail of rules incidents, Tiger Woods was penalized two strokes after-the-fact for making an illegal drop on the 15th hole in the second round of the 2013 Masters, despite having signed an incorrect scorecard, which normally leads to a disqualification. Woods did not know he had broken a rule, and it was only when the Augusta officials investigated it after the round that the violation was noticed. Why wasn't he disqualified? Augusta officials cited relatively new Rule 33 that states "that disqualification can be waived at the committee's discretion."
5 of 9John W. McDonough/Sports Illustrated
Before Tiger's violation came to light, there was already an uproar at Augusta National over a different rules penalty. 14-year-old amateur Guan Tianlang, the youngest-ever Masters participant, was shockingly penalized one stroke for slow play. The penalty nearly cost Guan the cut, but he rolled in a long putt on 18 to make it to the weekend.
6 of 9Andrew Redington/Getty Images
On the fifth hole Friday at the 2013 Abu Dhabi Championship, Tiger Woods hit his drive into deep brush to the right of the fairway. After consulting with playing partner Martin Kaymer (bent over in red vest), Woods took a free drop for an embedded lie. However, the area where Woods took the drop is known locally as a sandy area, meaning that Woods was not allowed to take a free drop. The error resulted in a two-stroke penalty causing Woods to miss the cut by one shot.
7 of 9Christian Petersen/Getty Images
After finishing the third round of the 2013 LPGA Founders' Cup two shots out of the lead, Stacy Lewis was told by a rules official that her caddie had tested the sand of a fairway bunker with his feet on the 16th hole. The move cost her two strokes, but she went on to win the tournament anyway, earning herself the No. 1 ranking in addition to a sizeable paycheck.
8 of 9Michael Cohen/Getty Images
Tied for the lead in the second round of the Greater Gwinnett Championship on the Champions Tour, Michael Allen brushed two pine cones out of the way of his line before taking a shot out of the rough. Upon moving the pine cones, Allen discovered that they had been embedded, and not loose impediments, making his move illegal. Allen called the penalty on himself, costing him two stokes and a share of the lead.
9 of 9Stephen Dunn/Getty Images
At the 2013 Kraft Nabisco Championship, I.K. Kim was standing over a putt when her ball moved slightly. After conferring with her playing partner, Kim charged herself a stroke. Unbeknownst to Kim, that rule had been changed two years before so that players were not penalized in such situations if "it is known, or virtually certain, that he [or she] did not cause the ball to move."
You May Like
More Tours & News
Sign Up for Newsletters
Receive insider analysis, swing tips, equipment news, special offers and much more.