By Rules Guy
Thursday, October 04, 2007

As you're waiting for the group ahead of you to clear the green, you decide to kill some time, so you grab your putter and putt your ball back and forth on the fairway. However, one of your buddies in your foursome says you're in violation of practicing during a round. Under the rules, you should:

A. Take a 2-stroke penalty for making practice strokes during your round.
B. Take no penalties because you were just "killing time" and not actually practicing.
C. Take a 1-stroke penalty for making practice strokes during your round.

Continue to the next page for the answer

As you're waiting for the group ahead of you to clear the green, you decide to kill some time, so you grab your putter and putt your ball back and forth on the fairway. However, one of your buddies in your foursome says you're in violation of practicing during a round. Under the rules, you should:

A. Take a 2-stroke penalty for making practice strokes during your round.
B. Take no penalties because you were just "killing time" and not actually practicing.
C. Take a 1-stroke penalty for making practice strokes during your round.

Answer: A. Under Rule 7-2, you can only make practice strokes during a round on or near the putting green of the last hole, any practice putting green, or the teeing ground of the next hole to be played. If practice strokes are made anywhere else during a round, you should receive a 2-stroke penalty.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN