Weekly Rules Quiz: Moving opponent's ball

Monday October 22nd, 2007

Your opponent's ball is about 10 yards ahead of yours. Because it's in your line of sight, you ask your opponent to lift his ball because it constitutes mental interference. Is this allowed?

A. No, it is never allowed.
B. Yes, but only if the interfering ball is within 10 yards of the other.
C. Yes, but only if both balls are on the green.
D. Yes, but only if there is a reasonable possibility that an opponent's ball may interfere with your shot, either physically or mentally.

Continue to the next page for the answer

Your opponent's ball is about 10 yards ahead of yours. Because it's in your line of sight, you ask your opponent to lift his ball because it constitutes mental interference. Is this allowed?

A. No, it is never allowed.
B. Yes, but only if the interfering ball is within 10 yards of the other.
C. Yes, but only if both balls are on the green.
D. Yes, but only if there is a reasonable possibility that an opponent's ball may interfere with your shot, either physically or mentally.

Answer: D. According to Rule 22-2, if a player considers that the ball of another player might interfere with his play, he may have it lifted. And under Decision 22/1, this may be physical and/or mental interference.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN