By Rules Guy
Wednesday, June 20, 2007

You hit your tee shot on a par 3 and carry a hazard, which is marked by yellow stakes. It lands on the bank but rolls back into the water. You say you should drop on the green side of the hazard, but one of your playing partners says you must drop on the other side. You should:

A. Drop on the green side because you initially cleared the water hazard.

B. Drop on the side closest to the tee box because you can't drop nearer the hole.

C. Drop anywhere within two club-lengths of where you initially cleared the hazard.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You hit your tee shot on a par 3 and carry a hazard, which is marked by yellow stakes. It lands on the bank but rolls back into the water. You say you should drop on the green side of the hazard, but one of your playing partners says you must drop on the other side. You should:

A. Drop on the green side because you initially cleared the water hazard.

B. Drop on the side closest to the tee box because you can't drop nearer the hole.

C. Drop anywhere within two club-lengths of where you initially cleared the hazard.

ANSWER: B. You should drop on the tee side of the hazard, keeping the point where the ball last crossed the hazard line between you and the hole. The option of dropping within two club-lengths of where the ball last crossed the hazard line is available only for lateral water hazards, marked by red stakes. Since this is a regular water hazard, the fact that the ball landed past the hazard line before rolling back into the hazard is immaterial (Rule 26-1).

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN