Instruction

Daily Rules Quiz: Unknowingly marked

You play a shot out of a bunker onto the green, where it ends up in your buddy's putting line. Your playing partner marks your ball and places it nearby on the green, but you're unaware he moved your ball and you play from there and hole out. You should:

A. Tack on two strokes to your score for playing from the wrong place.

B. Penalize your buddy one stroke for moving your ball, but no take no penalty for yourself because you were unaware.

C. Take no penalty for holing out because you were unaware, and your playing partner also takes no penalty.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You play a shot out of a bunker onto the green, where it ends up in your buddy's putting line. Your playing partner marks your ball and places it nearby on the green, but you're unaware he moved your ball and you play from there and hole out. You should:

A. Tack on two strokes to your score for playing from the wrong place.

B. Penalize your buddy one stroke for moving your ball, but no take no penalty for yourself because you were unaware.

C. Take no penalty for holing out because you were unaware, and your playing partner also takes no penalty.

ANSWER: C. Since you did not know that your buddy moved your ball, you are not penalized, according to Decision 15-3b/3. If you become aware of the mistake before playing from the next tee, you must replace your ball on the correct spot on the green, without penalty, and hole out. If you learn of the mistake after playing from the next tee, your score stands and there is no penalty.

More From the Web

More Instruction