By Rules Guy
Monday, July 16, 2007

You knock a putt on the edge of the cup. You walk toward your ball and cast your shadow of the ball, and as you do so, your ball falls in. Your playing partner cries foul, believing you exerted undue influence on the ball. You should:

A. Count the ball as holed without penalty.

B. Take a 1-stroke penalty for exerting movement upon the ball with your shadow.

C. Take the ball out of the cup, replace and play from there with a 1-stroke penalty.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You knock a putt on the edge of the cup. You walk toward your ball and cast your shadow of the ball, and as you do so, your ball falls in. Your playing partner cries foul, believing you exerted undue influence on the ball. You should:

A. Count the ball as holed without penalty.

B. Take a 1-stroke penalty for exerting movement upon the ball with your shadow.

C. Take the ball out of the cup, replace and play from there with a 1-stroke penalty.

ANSWER: A. Even though some believe casting a shadow on a ball hanging on the lip can cause the grass to wilt and the ball to drop, according to the Rules of Golf, they're full of it. No penalty is assessed here (Decision 16-2/3).

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN