Daily Rules Quiz: Swinging with just a shaft

Tuesday October 2nd, 2007

As you're making an attempt to strike the ball, the head of the club separates from the shaft on your backswing. You complete the swing but miss the ball. Did you make a stroke?

A. Yes, because a stroke is just the forward movement of the club.
B. No, because swinging with only a shaft does not conform to the rules regarding equipment.

Continue to the next page for the answer

As you're making an attempt to strike the ball, the head of the club separates from the shaft on your backswing. You complete the swing but miss the ball. Did you make a stroke?

A. Yes, because a stroke is just the forward movement of the club.
B. No, because swinging with only a shaft does not conform to the rules regarding equipment.

Answer: B. A stroke is the forward movement of a club, but a shaft by itself is not considered a club. According to Rule 4-1a, clubs must conform to Appendix II regarding the form and make of clubs. Here, there is no penalty and you must play the ball as it lies, this time with a different club.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN