Daily Rules Quiz: Relief from casual water

Thursday July 5th, 2007

You pick up your ball to take relief from casual water, but you then realize that the only area you can drop is in bushes, which would almost certainly be unplayable. You decide to replace your ball in the casual water and play from there, but your buddy says you should be penalized. You should:

A. Take a 1-stroke penalty for lifting your ball while in play.

B. Take no penalty, replace because of the unplayable lie and play from there.

C. Pick up your ball and drop in the bushes because it is the only spot to take relief.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You pick up your ball to take relief from casual water, but you then realize that the only area you can drop is in bushes, which would almost certainly be unplayable. You decide to replace your ball in the casual water and play from there, but your buddy says you should be penalized. You should:

A. Take a 1-stroke penalty for lifting your ball while in play.

B. Take no penalty, replace because of the unplayable lie and play from there.

C. Pick up your ball and drop in the bushes because it is the only spot to take relief.

ANSWER: A. You are entitled to lift your ball to take relief from casual water (Rule 18-2a), but this right is negated if you elect not to take relief. The rules provide for relief within one club-length of the point nearest to where the ball lies which is not nearer the hole, avoids interference with the condition, and is not in a hazard or on a green. But that point can sometimes be an unfriendly area, so weigh your options before you pick up your ball.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN