Daily Rules Quiz: Playable water hazard

Wednesday June 27th, 2007

You hit your tee shot into a water hazard, but it's playable. You hit your next shot from the hazard out of bounds. For your next shot you should:

A. Drop within two club lengths of the water hazard and take a 1-stroke penalty.

B. Drop in the water hazard where you just played from and take a 2-stroke penalty, one for going out of bounds and one for dropping in the hazard.

C. Drop in the water hazard where you just played from and take a 1-stroke penalty for going out of bounds.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You hit your tee shot into a water hazard, but it's playable. You hit your next shot from the hazard out of bounds. For your next shot you should:

A. Drop within two club lengths of the water hazard and take a 1-stroke penalty.

B. Drop in the water hazard where you just played from and take a 2-stroke penalty, one for going out of bounds and one for dropping in the hazard.

C. Drop in the water hazard where you just played from and take a 1-stroke penalty for going out of bounds.

ANSWER: C. Play this like any other out-of-bounds shot. Just because you hit your shot from a hazard does not give you further relief nor another penalty. If you don't want to play your next shot from the hazard, then take relief under the normal water hazard rules.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN