Daily Rules Quiz: Mistaken lost ball

Friday July 27th, 2007

You find a ball, which you mistakenly think is yours, in a bad lie. You declare the ball unplayable, drop it within two club lengths and play it. After your shot you find your original ball. Under the Rules you can

A. Give yourself a two-stroke penalty for substituting a ball and continue playing.

B. Take a two-stroke penalty and play your original ball, ignoring the strokes played with the wrong ball.

C. Add three strokes to your score (one for a lost ball and two for playing from the wrong place) and continue playing the substitute ball.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You find a ball, which you mistakenly think is yours, in a bad lie. You declare the ball unplayable, drop it within two club lengths and play it. After your shot you find your original ball. Under the Rules you can

A. Give yourself a two-stroke penalty for substituting a ball and continue playing.

B. Take a two-stroke penalty and play your original ball, ignoring the strokes played with the wrong ball.

C. Add three strokes to your score (one for a lost ball and two for playing from the wrong place) and continue playing the substitute ball.

ANSWER: C. Under Rule 28, your ball must be found and identified before you may declare a lie unplayable. The stray ball dropped is considered a substitute. You should take a one-stroke penalty for the lost ball and an additional two strokes should be added under Rule 20-7c for playing from the wrong place.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN