Daily Rules Quiz: Marking your position

Friday July 13th, 2007

You reach into your pocket to retrieve a coin to mark your ball on the green. But you fumble the coin and accidentally drop it onto your ball, which moves it slightly. You should:

A. Replace your ball without penalty to its original position.

B. Incur a two-stroke penalty and play the ball from its altered position.

C. Incur a one-stroke penalty and replace the ball.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You reach into your pocket to retrieve a coin to mark your ball on the green. But you fumble the coin and accidentally drop it onto your ball, which moves it slightly. You should:

A. Replace your ball without penalty to its original position.

B. Incur a two-stroke penalty and play the ball from its altered position.

C. Incur a one-stroke penalty and replace the ball.

ANSWER: C. Rule 20-1 states that a player is not penalized for accidentally causing his ball to move if the movement of the ball (or ball-marker) is "directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball." Unfortunately, in this scenario, fumbling a coin onto the ball does not qualify as "directly attributable" to the act of marking your ball because you are not in the immediate proximity of it.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN