By Rules Guy
Tuesday, June 19, 2007

You think you hit your ball into a water hazard. You look for it for about a minute, can't find it, and drop behind the hazard and play another ball under the water-hazard rule. Your original ball is then found inside the hazard within five minutes of the start of the search for it. You should:

A. Play the original ball because you must hole out with the ball in which you teed off.

B. Play the dropped ball because it is now the ball in play.

C. Take a 2-stroke penalty for taking an illegal drop and play the original ball.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You think you hit your ball into a water hazard. You look for it for about a minute, can't find it, and drop behind the hazard and play another ball under the water-hazard rule. Your original ball is then found inside the hazard within five minutes of the start of the search for it. You should:

A. Play the original ball because you must hole out with the ball in which you teed off.

B. Play the dropped ball because it is now the ball in play.

C. Take a 2-stroke penalty for taking an illegal drop and play the original ball.

ANSWER: B. You're not allowed to play the original ball since you put another ball in play (Rule 15-2), even if you've found the original within your five-minute search limit.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN