Daily Rules Quiz: Lifting your ball

Tuesday June 26th, 2007

Your ball lies on the fringe. Without thinking, you pick up your ball and clean it. But you then realize you should be penalized because your ball wasn't on the green. You should:

A. Take a 2-stroke penalty because you lifted your ball and cleaned it.

B. Take a 1-stroke penalty for lifting your ball.

C. Take a 1-stroke penalty for cleaning your ball.

Go to the next page for the answer.

Your ball lies on the fringe. Without thinking, you pick up your ball and clean it. But you then realize you should be penalized because your ball wasn't on the green. You should:

A. Take a 2-stroke penalty because you lifted your ball and cleaned it.

B. Take a 1-stroke penalty for lifting your ball.

C. Take a 1-stroke penalty for cleaning your ball.

ANSWER: B. According to Rule 18-2, you're penalize one stroke for lifting your ball only, not for cleaning it. A ball may be cleaned without penalty even if lifted illegally.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN