By Rules Guy
Tuesday, July 10, 2007

You hit your ball up against a tree. You take a stance by backing up against some trees nearby, but you then decide to play the ball in the direction of the trees you just cleared. Is this allowed?

A. Yes, as long as parts of the tree are not taken off in the process.

B. Yes, but only if taking the original stance did not improve the new stroke.

C. No. Only playing out of the original stance is allowed without penalty.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You hit your ball up against a tree. You take a stance by backing up against some trees nearby, but you then decide to play the ball in the direction of the trees you just cleared. Is this allowed?

A. Yes, as long as parts of the tree are not taken off in the process.

B. Yes, but only if taking the original stance did not improve the new stroke.

C. No. Only playing out of the original stance is allowed without penalty.

ANSWER: B. According to Decision 13-2/1.7, you may change his intended direction of play and re-take his stance as long as the original stance did not improve the position or lie of his ball, the area of his new stance or swing or line of play for the new stroke. If so, you could incur a 2-stroke penalty under Rule 13-2 for improving your lie.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN