By Rules Guy
Thursday, July 12, 2007

Your competitor concedes you a short putting match play. Instead of picking up your ball, you casually slap it toward the hole, missing the "putt." According to the rules, you should:

A. Count the conceded putt even though you struck the ball afterward.

B. Count yourself as losing the hole for removing your ball from the field of play before properly finishing the hole.

C. Penalize yourself one stroke and replay the ball from the original position of the conceded putt.

Go to the next page for the answer.

Your competitor concedes you a short putting match play. Instead of picking up your ball, you casually slap it toward the hole, missing the "putt." According to the rules, you should:

A. Count the conceded putt even though you struck the ball afterward.

B. Count yourself as losing the hole for removing your ball from the field of play before properly finishing the hole.

C. Penalize yourself one stroke and replay the ball from the original position of the conceded putt.

ANSWER: A. The conceded putt is good. Under Rule 2-4 in match play, a concession may not be declined or withdrawn. In other words, once a stroke is conceded, it doesn't matter what the player does afterward.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN