Daily Rules Quiz: Cart path interference

Monday June 25th, 2007

Your ball lies in heavy rough near a paved cart path. You select a wedge to pitch out, but your heels touch the path when you take your stance. You take relief from the path, and after dropping your ball, you're in a much better lie, so you decide to hit a 3-wood. But now, when you take your stance, your heels are again touching the path. You should:

A. Take another drop because there is still interference with the obstruction.

B. Play the ball as it lies because you've selected a different club.

C. Choose between A or B.

Go to the next page for the answer.

Your ball lies in heavy rough near a paved cart path. You select a wedge to pitch out, but your heels touch the path when you take your stance. You take relief from the path, and after dropping your ball, you're in a much better lie, so you decide to hit a 3-wood. But now, when you take your stance, your heels are again touching the path. You should:

A. Take another drop because there is still interference with the obstruction.

B. Play the ball as it lies because you've selected a different club.

C. Choose between A or B.

ANSWER: C. Because you selected a new club, the 3-wood, you can either play the ball as it lies, with your feet on the cart path, or you can re-drop. Normally, you must re-drop because the path was still interfering with your stance (Rule 20-2c). But in this case there is no interference for your stroke with the club originally selected.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN