Ask the Rules Guy: When you think you're tee shot is lost only to find it in the hole

Ask the Rules Guy, December 2013
Ask the Rules Guy

MISPLACED ACE
Rules Guy: On a par 3 in our club championship, we lost sight of my dad's tee shot. We thought the ball he found over the green was his, and after a couple of poor chips, he conceded the hole. Turns out that his tee shot had gone into the cup! Should his ace have counted, or did he lose the hole?
-- Tommy Cassidy, via e-mail

Pops is covered by Decision 2-4/11, "Player with Lost Ball Concedes Hole; Ball Then Found in Hole." The takeaway: Drinks are on Dad. Once the ball goes into the hole, the hole is over, even if no one sees it happen.

Forecast
PGA Tour News
Trips
Travel & Courses
Lessons
Tips & Videos
The Shop
Equipment News & Reviews