Ask the Rules Guy
By Rules Guy
Thursday, September 12, 2013

LIVING ON THE EDGE
Rules Guy:
My son hit an approach shot that plugged into a steep slope on the green, well above the hole. After lifting and cleaning the ball -- which I know he can do -- he tried to replace it, but it wouldn't stay! Should we have found the nearest flat spot, which was off the back of the green? Or was it okay to let him play it from where it rolled?
-- Brent Saylor, Johns Creek, Ga.

The ruling is simple enough. Harder to understand is why the green is slicker than a Super-G course in the first place. Somebody needs a stern talking-to: either the designer or your Stimp-happy greenskeeper. As for your son, no, he can't play the hand-wedge. Rule 20-3d(i) says that a ball that won't come to rest when placed must be placed on the nearest spot where it will stay that is not closer to the hole, even if that spot is off the green.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN