Ask the Rules Guy: Sprinklers and rib-eye steaks

Tuesday June 29th, 2010
Jason Raish

• Got a Rules question? Zip it to rulesguy@golf.com

DEAR RULES GUY: I was playing a late round with a friend on a hot summer day. As I lined up a putt on the 18th green, the sprinklers suddenly came to life, dousing the putting surface and me. We got them to shut the sprinklers off, but I was left with a little standing water between my ball and the hole, which I decided to mop up with my towel. My buddy said this was a breach of the Rules, since I was improving my putting line, while I felt that I was entitled to my original line, which was on a bone-dry green. Who was right?
Don Chiciak, via e-mail

Soggy, sunburned and penalized is no way to finish a round, but unfortunately that's how your day ended. As there was casual water on your line of putt, you were entitled to relief under Rule 25-1b(iii), but that's all. As your friend suggested, your toweling act was in breach of Rule 16-1a, which forbids you from mopping up casual water on your line of putt (Decision 16-1a/1). For that move, you get two strokes or loss of hole in match play.

DEAR RULES GUY: I was playing with a friend and we both hit drives into the same fairway bunker. My ball was 10 feet shorter than his, so I hit first. After I hit my shot, he raked my footprints. While the sand he raked was nowhere near his ball, it was in the same bunker. I told him I was pretty sure that was a penalty since he hadn't hit yet and he raked the same bunker his ball was in. We ended up betting a steak dinner on it. Who gets the rib eye?
Richard Daly, Houston, Texas

Now would be a good time for your friend to make a reservation, because he definitely owes you on your "high-steaks" bet. Unless there was a possibility that your footprints could have affected his stroke, your buddy's raking clearly meets the USGA's definition of "testing the condition of a hazard," in violation of Rule 13-4, as raking your footprints gave him more information about the bunker. In addition to the bill, your friend should have picked up two strokes for his actions.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN