Ask the Rules Guy: Raging Rapids

Saturday February 2nd, 2013
Ask the Rules Guy

• Got a Rules question? Zip it to rulesguy@golf.com

DEAR RULES GUY: I hit a drive into a creek that was near some out-of-bounds stakes. When I reached the creek, I watched as the water carried my ball downstream from in-bounds to OB. I told my friend I was entitled to the original lie and should be able to drop outside the water hazard with a penalty rather than a stroke-and-distance penalty for OB. He said it only matters where my ball finally came to rest. Who's right?
Candace Lee, via e-mail

The raging rapids not only sent your ball OB, they also washed you back to the tee. Under Decision 26-1/7, because the ball lies out of bounds, you have to proceed under Rule 27-1b, which covers the stroke-and-distance penalty. Water is not considered an outside agency, so the ball would not be replaced under Rule 18-1, which covers balls moved while at rest.

 

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN