Instruction

Ask the Rules Guy: Imperfect Practice

Ask the Rules Guy

Can't get enough Rules Guy? Head over to our Ask the Rules Guy homepage!

IMPERFECT PRACTICE
Mr. Rules Man: My college buds and I played 72 holes of stroke play to see whose game was tops. After holing out for par on the final hole of the third round, I dropped a ball and practiced the birdie putt I had just missed. One of my friends, with whom I shared the lead at that point, claimed that I should be disqualified for practicing on the course between tournament rounds. That so?
-- Dylan Hulser, New York, N.Y.

Some friend! Decision 7-2/8 lays out a similar situation to yours. Under Rule 7-2, you may practice putting or chipping on (or near) the green of the previous hole played. The same privilege applies immediately after completing a round, even though technically such practice would be between rounds. If you had left the course, however, and later returned to practice on the 18th green, your "bud" could have DQ'ed you under Rule 7-1b.

Can't get enough Rules Guy? Head over to our Ask the Rules Guy homepage!
 

More From the Web

More Instruction

The most trusted name in sports is now the easiest way to stay informed—no matter where you are. At home, at work, or on the go, we have you covered.
check it out
This Way To…
Our one-touch menu gives you easy access to your favorite writers and sports, special sections, and more.
go deep…
Use this strip to access scores, schedules, or to lean back and enjoy our iconic photos and videos, daily live shows, and more.
then take a scroll…
We have more great content than ever.