Ask the Rules Guy
By Rules Guy
Tuesday, March 06, 2012

FLAGSTICK FLAP
Rules Guy,
I hit my approach shot to about three feet and went to tend the pin for my buddy who was further out on the green. My friend hit a great putt, and as it tracked towards the hole I hurriedly pulled out the flagstick. But, in my rush to get out of the way, I managed to knock my own ball off of the green. I had a pretty good idea of where it had been, so I just replaced it. My buddy agreed that I was allowed to replace the ball, but he was sure there must be some sort of penalty involved. Was he right?
-- J. Sandeman, Cape May, N.J.

I'm guessing you need to spend more time on the course, since flagstick control is one of the few skills that is very difficult to master at the driving range. You had the right instinct to replace your ball after knocking it out of the way, but your friend's instincts were even better. According to Rule 18-2a, causing your ball to move (even accidently) is enough to incur a penalty of one stroke. There are a few exceptions (including searching for a ball or moving an obstruction), but, unfortunately for you, playing croquet with the flagstick isn't one of them.

 

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN