Instruction

Ask the Rules Guy: Can you stomp your foot to make a ball drop into the hole?

Ask the Rules Guy

RULES GUY: I had a long eagle putt on a short par 5. I couldn't see the hole, so after I hit the ball, I followed it toward the cup. I got there just as the ball did and when it started to slow near the hole, I jokingly stamped my foot to "help" the ball go in. Well, it did, and I left the green wondering whether my Riverdance impression actually caused it to fall. I may have cheated myself out of my first eagle! Help, Rules Guy!
-- Seth Perigo, Chicago, Ill.

You might need a leap of faith to believe this complicated ruling. According to Decision 1-2/4, if the ball was still moving when you stamped your foot, you are deemed to have taken action to influence the movement of the ball, which is a two-stroke penalty. If it was at rest when you stamped your foot, it would've only been a one-stroke penalty and you would have had to replace the ball. If it was not possible to tell whether it was moving or not, the Rules are not kind here because it is presumed to be moving if it cannot be determined that it was at rest. So instead of your coveted eagle, you actually scored a par.
 

More From the Web

More Instruction

The most trusted name in sports is now the easiest way to stay informed—no matter where you are. At home, at work, or on the go, we have you covered.
check it out
This Way To…
Our one-touch menu gives you easy access to your favorite writers and sports, special sections, and more.
go deep…
Use this strip to access scores, schedules, or to lean back and enjoy our iconic photos and videos, daily live shows, and more.
then take a scroll…
We have more great content than ever.