Instruction

Ask the Rules Guy: Can you hold the flagstick while you putt?

Photo: Jason Raish

Ask the Rules Guy

A REAL STICKLER
Hi, Rules Guy: Is there a penalty for holding the flagstick in one hand while putting the ball into the hole with the other?
-- Scott Wentworth, via e-mail

Scott, you must think you're talking to the Rules Gal, because that's just an old wives' tale! But don't feel bad—it's a common mistake. So common, in fact, that Decision 17-1/5 covers it. As long as the flagstick is removed from the hole, you aren't leaning on it, and the ball doesn't hit it, you're in the clear.
 

The most trusted name in sports is now the easiest way to stay informed—no matter where you are. At home, at work, or on the go, we have you covered.
check it out
This Way To…
Our one-touch menu gives you easy access to your favorite writers and sports, special sections, and more.
go deep…
Use this strip to access scores, schedules, or to lean back and enjoy our iconic photos and videos, daily live shows, and more.
then take a scroll…
We have more great content than ever.