Ask the Rules Guy: Buzz Off

Saturday February 2nd, 2013
Ask the Rules Guy

BUZZ OFF
Rules Guy: I was on the green standing over my ball when a large dragonfly flying next to the ball distracted me. I stood up out of my stance and waved my putter at the insect to shoo it off. As I was shaking my putter with one hand, it touched my ball, and my opponent immediately called a one-stroke penalty. What rule would apply to this, and did this warrant a penalty stroke?
-- Tim Seitz, Udon Thani, Thailand

Confess, Tim: Are you sure you aren't trying to cover up a case of the yips? If the ball didn't move, you are not penalized since you did not intentionally touch it (Rule 18-2a(i)). Tell your opponent to buzz off. If the ball did move, according to Rule 18-2a(ii), you incur a one-stroke penalty and must replace your ball on the spot where it originally came to rest. Keep your putter off the ball until it's bug free.


 

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN