From The Web

Pettersson hit with two-shot penalty on first hole in final round

Carl Pettersson, final round
Fred Vuich / SI
Carl Pettersson moved a leaf during his backswing on this shot on the opening hole, resulting in a two-shot penalty.

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. (AP) -- Carl Pettersson was assessed a two-shot penalty in the final round of the PGA Championship because a leaf moved on the opening hole.

Pettersson, three shots out of the lead to start the final round Sunday, drove just inside a hazard on the first hole. He made sure he could touch the grass with his club, as long as he didn't ground the club. He played out to the middle of the green, and PGA rules official Brad Gregory told him there might have been a violation.

After a lengthy video review, the PGA of America said a leaf moved as Pettersson took the club back. That's a violation of Rules 13-4c for moving a loose impediment in a hazard.

Pettersson was not notified until he left the fourth tee. He birdied his next two holes.

Forecast
PGA Tour News
Trips
Travel & Courses
Lessons
Tips & Videos
The Shop
Equipment News & Reviews