From The Web

Extra club costs Furyk $131,250

JERSEY CITY, N.J. (AP) — Jim Furyk was penalized four strokes in the third round of The Barclays when he and caddie Mike "Fluff" Cowan left an extra club in the bag, a mistake that ended up costing Furyk $131,250 and 188 FedEx Cup points.

Furyk discovered the 15th club while preparing to play a shot near the second green Saturday and had to take two penalty strokes for each hole, turning his opening pars into double bogeys. He finished with a 70 in the rainy morning round, then shot a 69 on Sunday to tie for 15th at 3 under - six strokes behind winner Heath Slocum.

Without the penalty strokes, Furyk would have tied for sixth. He dropped from 16th to 18th in the FedEx Cup points race, finishing the event with 1,458.

The extra club was a 60-degree wedge with extra bounce, something Furyk thought he might need on shots into the grain from the many runoff areas around the greens. He decided to go with his usual low-bounce model with a sharp leading edge, but the other club was inadvertently left in the bag and went unnoticed - in part because he had the rain hood on his bag throughout the warmup session and on the course.

"It was a chain of events that added up to a stupid mistake," Furyk said. "I assumed he (Cowan) knew I was going to play this 60 and he didn't know which way I was going to go. ... It's one of the simplest rules in golf. It's so easy.

"I pride myself on being really prepared - and to do something like that. I think mental errors are much harder to overcome on the golf course than physical errors. The ones that you make because of an absent mind or not paying attention or not doing your homework, those are the ones that hurt the most because you can control that."

Furyk tried to put the error quickly behind him

"He (Cowan) was kicking himself," Furyk said. "I said, "Hey, I don't want to hear it. Let's just play golf and we'll figure it out.'

"We've been through too much together for a long, long time. He's been on my bag for over 10 years. He does what he does. He shows up on time. He's a good person and he's a good caddie. The last thing I want anyone to do is blame it on Mike. The fact that we both made the error is what surprises me. That's the shocker. I can see one person being a bonehead for 30 minutes, but two people is disappointing."

PLAYOFF POSITIONS: Daniel Chopra took the 100th and final spot in the Deutsche Bank Championship next weekend outside Boston, edging K.J. Choi by two points and Ben Curtis by three in the FedEx Cup standings.

Chopra shot a 1-over 72 on Sunday to tie for 58th and earn 53 points in the playoff opener at Liberty National. He also entered the tournament - limited to the top 125 - in the 100th spot.

Choi, 92nd after the regular season, and Curtis, 94th entering the event, missed the cut. Chris Riley, 119th at the start of the week, bogeyed the final hole - missing a 5-foot par putt - to finish five points behind Chopra.

Forecast
PGA Tour News
Trips
Travel & Courses
Lessons
Tips & Videos
The Shop
Equipment News & Reviews