Zac Blair Disqualified from Wells Fargo After Using Non-Conforming Club

May 6, 2016

Zac Blair admitted on Twitter that he let his emotions get the better of him during the second round of the Wells Fargo Championship.

Blair missed a birdie putt on the par-five fifth hole on Friday and proceeded to hit his putter against his head in frustration, causing the putter to bend.

After his Woody Austin-like freak out, Blair went ahead and tapped in for his par with the bent putter — a direct breach of rule 4-3b, which states: “If, during a stipulated round, a player’s club is damaged other than in the normal course of play, rendering it non-conforming or changing its playing characteristics, the club must not subsequently be used or replaced during the round.”

Blair alerted a rules official to the situation on the next hole and was disqualified.

He then took to Twitter:

At least he seems to be making the most of the situation.


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /opt/app-root/src/wp-content/themes/golf2019/functions/utils.php on line 31