Ryder Cup 2016: Get to Know the U.S. Team’s 8 Automatic Qualifiers

August 28, 2016

And finally, we have eight.

The eight automatic qualifying spots for the 2016 U.S. Ryder Cup team were finalized on Sunday at The Barclays, and we now know two-thirds of the team that will represent the red, white and blue at Hazeltine National in Chaska, Minnesota, on Sept. 30 to Oct. 2.

Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Phil Mickelson, Jimmy Walker and Brooks Koepka all had spots locked up prior to The Barclays, but Brandt Snedeker, Zach Johnson and Barclays winner Patrick Reed all had to wait until Sunday to see if their spots were secure.

U.S. captain Davis Love III will make three captain’s picks on Sept. 12, the day after the BMW Championship, and make his final pick on Sept. 25 at the conclusion of the Tour Championship.

The European Ryder Cup team already had its nine automatic qualifiers set, and captain Darren Clarke will make his three captain’s picks this week.

Dustin Johnson

Rank: 1
World Rank: 2
Ryder Cup Record: (4-3-0)

Jordan Spieth

Rank: 2
World Rank: 3
Ryder Cup Record: (2-1-1)

Phil Mickelson

Rank: 3
World Rank: 13
Ryder Cup Record: (16-19-6)

Patrick Reed

Rank: 4
World Rank: 14
Ryder Cup Record: (3-0-1)

Jimmy Walker

Rank: 5
World Rank: 19
Ryder Cup Record: (1-1-3)

Brooks Koepka

Rank: 6
World Rank: 18
Ryder Cup Record: (0-0-0)

Brandt Snedeker

Rank: 7
World Rank: 23
Ryder Cup Record: (1-2-0)

Zach Johnson

Rank: 8
World Rank: 24
Ryder Cup Record: (6-6-2)