Dustin Johnson Still Doesn’t Agree with the USGA’s Penalty Ruling

June 30, 2016

Dustin Johnson’s triumph at the U.S. Open earlier this month helped to ease some of the tension over the USGA’s controversial decision to penalize him during the final round. But it seems that Johnson doesn’t believe that the USGA made the right call

“I was arguing with them because I still don’t believe that I did anything to make the golf ball move,” Johnson said in a press conference ahead of the WGC Bridgestone Invitational.  “But at that point I was ready to sign my scorecard and get my trophy, so I just said, ‘Give me the penalty, let’s go.'”

Although other pros (like Jordan Spieth) have said that they would have refused to keep playing if they’d been in Johnson’s shoes as the USGA dangled the prospect of a penalty over his head, Johnson said that that possibility didn’t occur to him. “I was playing golf, and I didn’t want to be bothered by it at the moment, so I said we’d figure it out when I got done,” he said.