Top 100 Courses You Can Play 2014

1 of 100 No. 7 at The Boulders Club / Courtesy of The Boulders Club
100. The Boulders Club (South) Carefree, Ariz.; Jay Morrish (1984) -- $55-$195, bouldersclub.com We're revealing our new ranking of America's best public-access golf courses this week, starting with this Jay Morrish-designed gem in Arizona.
2 of 100 No. 14 at Coeur d'Alene Resort / Joel Riner
99. Coeur d'Alene Resort Coeur d'Alene, Idaho; Scott Miller (1991) -- $125-$225, cdaresort.com
3 of 100 No. 16 at Grayhawk Golf Club (Talon) / Lonna Tucker
98. Grayhawk Golf Club (Talon) Scottsdale, Ariz.; David Graham / Gary Panks (1994) -- $60-$295, grayhawkgolf.com
4 of 100 No. 10 at Rustic Canyon Golf Course / Rob Brown
97. Rustic Canyon Golf Course Moorpark, Calif.; G. Hanse / J. Wagner / G. Shackelford (2001) -- $36-$81, rusticcanyongolfcourse.com
5 of 100 No. 8 at Pinehurst Resort No. 8 / Courtesy of Pinehurst Resort
96. Pinehurst Resort No. 8 Pinehurst, N.C.; Tom Fazio (1996) -- $150-$240, pinehurst.com
6 of 100 No. 12 at The Golf Club at Redlands Mesa / Courtesy of The Golf Club at Redlands Mesa
95. The Golf Club at Redlands Mesa Grand Junction, Colo.; Jim Engh (2001) -- $63-$105, redlandsmesa.com
7 of 100 No. 6 at La Quinta Resort (Moutain) / Rob Perry
94. La Quinta Resort (Mountain) La Quinta, Calif.; Pete Dye (1980) -- $89-$269, laquintaresort.com
8 of 100 No. 13 at Pelican Hill Golf Club (Ocean South) / Courtesy of Pelican Hill Golf Club
93. Pelican Hill Golf Club (Ocean South) Newport Coast, Calif.; Tom Fazio (1991) -- $305, pelicanhill.com
9 of 100 No. 4 at Sunday River Golf Club / John and Jeannine Henebry
92. Sunday River Golf Club Newry, Maine; Robert Trent Jones II (2005) -- $89-$129, sundayriver.com
10 of 100 No. 8 at Circling Raven Golf Club / Rob Perry
91. Circling Raven Golf Club Worley, Idaho; Gene Bates (2003) -- $65-$95, cdacasino.com
11 of 100 via @GCRRaft on Twitter
90. Lakota Canyon Ranch & Golf Club New Castle, Colo; Jim Engh (2004) -- $99, lakotacanyonranch.com
12 of 100 No. 14 at Tobacco Road Golf Club / Evan Schiller
89. Tobacco Road Golf Club Sanford, N.C.; Mike Strantz (1998) -- $49-$134, tobaccoroadgolf.com
13 of 100 No. 13 at Wild Horse Golf Club/Stonehouse Golf
88. Wild Horse Golf Club Gothenburg, Neb.; Dan Proctor / Dave Axland (1999) -- $45.50-$66, playwildhorse.com
14 of 100 No. 4 at Bay Harbor Golf Club (Links/Quarry) / Brian Walters
87. Bay Harbor Golf Club (Links / Quarry) Bay Harbor, Mich.; Arthur Hills (1996) -- $99-$293, bayharborgolf.com
15 of 100 No. 2 at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club / Getty Images
86. Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club Maricopa, Ariz.; Schmidt-Curley / Fred Couples (2002), golfsoutherndunes.com
16 of 100 Larry Lambrecht
85. Barefoot Resort (Love) North Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Davis Love III (2000) -- $90-$185, barefootgolf.com
17 of 100 No. 16 at Lakes of Isles (North) / Evan Schiller
84. Lake of Isles (North North Stonington, Conn.; Rees Jones (2005) -- $119-$180, lakeofisles.com
18 of 100 D2 Productions
83. Wilderness Club Eureka, Mont.; Nick Faldo / Brian Curley (2009) -- $79-$129, thewildernessclub.com
19 of 100 No. 18 at Tullymore Golf Resort / Courtesy of Tullymore Golf Resort
82. Tullymore Golf Resort Stanwood, Mich.; Jim Engh (2002) -- $75-$160, tullymoregolf.com
20 of 100 No. 6 at Marquette Golf Club (Greywalls) / Kevin Frisch, Fusion Media Strategies
81. Marquette Golf Club (Greywalls) Marquette, Mich.; Mike DeVries (2005) -- $75-$130, marquettegolfclub.com
21 of 100 Courtesy of The Links at Lighthouse Sound
80. The Links at Lighthouse Sound Bishopville, Md.; Arthur Hills (2000) -- $55-$169, lighthousesound.com
22 of 100 No. 11 at Whistling Straits Golf Club (Irish) / Courtesy of The American Club
79. Whistling Straits Golf Club (Irish) Haven, Wisc.; Pete Dye (2000) -- $190-$220, americanclubresort.com
23 of 100 No. 11 at The Glen Club / Kemper Sports
78. The Glen Club Glenview, Ill.; Tom Fazio (2001) -- $90-$190, theglenclub.com
24 of 100 Michael Slear, The Brandon Agency
77. True Blue Pawleys Island, S.C.; Mike Strantz (1998) -- $79-$165, fishclub.com
25 of 100 No. 2 at Omni Barton Creek Resort (Fazio Canyons) / Courtesy of Omni Barton Creek Resort
76. Omni Barton Creek Resort (Fazio Canyons) Austin, Texas; Tom Fazio (2000) -- $95-$250, bartoncreek.com
26 of 100 No. 14 at Atlantic City Country Club / Larry Lambrecht
75. Atlantic City Country Club Northfield, N.J.; Reid/Park Jr./Flynn/Doak (1897/1923/1999) -- $75-$225, accountryclub.com
27 of 100 No. 10 at The Prairie Club (Dunes) / Peter Wong Photography
74. The Prairie Club (Dunes) Valentine, Nebr.; Tom Lehman/Chris Brands (2010) -- $95-$220, theprairieclub.com
28 of 100 No. 12 at Innisbrook Resort (Copperhead) / Courtesy of Innisbrook Resort
73. Innisbrook Resort (Copperhead) Palm Harbor, Fla.; Lawrence and Roger Packard (1972) -- $200-$280, innisbrookgolfresort.com
29 of 100 Courtesy of Hammock Beach Resort
72. Hammock Beach Resort (Ocean) Palm Coast, Fla.; Jack Nicklaus (2000) -- $85-$169, hammockbeach.com
30 of 100 No. 7 at The Greenbrier (Old White TPC) / Courtesy of The Greenbrier
71. The Greenbrier (Old White TPC) White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.; C.B. Macdonald/Lester George (1914/2007) -- $195-$375, greenbrier.com
31 of 100 No. 9 at French Link Resort (Pete Dye) / Brian Walters, Links Imaging
70. French Lick Resort (Pete Dye) French Lick, Ind.; Pete Dye (2009) -- $350-$380, frenchlick.com
32 of 100 No. 18 The Broadmoor (East) / Larry Lambrecht
69. The Broadmoor (East) Colorado Springs, Colo.; Donald Ross/Robert T Jones Sr. (1918/1965) -- $160-$225, broadmoor.com
33 of 100 No. 18 at Wynn Las Vegas / John and Jeannine Henebry
68. Wynn Las Vegas Las Vegas, Nev.; Tom Fazio (2005) -- $300-$500, wynnlasvegas.com
34 of 100 Evan Schiller
67. Reynolds Plantation (Oconee) Greensboro, Ga.; Rees Jones (2001) -- $149-$245, reynoldsplantation.com
35 of 100 No. 14 at Wolf Creek Golf Club / Courtesy of Wolf Creek Golf Club
66. Wolf Creek Golf Club Mesquite, Nev.; Dennis Ryder (2000) -- $85-$195, golfwolfcreek.com
36 of 100 Courtesy of Linville Golf Club
65. Linville Golf Club Linville, N.C.; Donald Ross (1924) -- $125, eseeola.com
37 of 100 No. 5 Atunyote at Turning Stone Resort / Courtesy of Turning Stone Resort
64. Atunyote at Turning Stone Resort Verona, N.Y.; Tom Fazio (2004) -- $200-$225, turningstone.com
38 of 100 No. 18 at Longaberger / Courtesy of Longaberger
63. Longaberger Nashport, Ohio; Athur Hills (1999) -- $59-$149, longabergergolfclub.com
39 of 100 No. 2 Crosswater at Sunriver Resort / Rob Perry
63. Crosswater at Sunriver Resort Sunriver, Ore.; Bob Cupp/John Fought (1995) -- $99-$199, sunriver-resort.com
40 of 100 No. 11 at Karsten Creek Golf Club / Courtesy of Karsten Creek Golf Club
62. Karsten Creek Golf Club Stillwater, Okla.; Tom Fazio (1994) -- $325, karstencreek.com
41 of 100 No. 14 at Cascata / Larry Lambrecht
60. Cascata Boulder City, Nev.; Rees Jones (2000) -- $245-$425, golfcascata.com
42 of 100 No. 17 at PGA West (Stadium) / Rob Perry
59. PGA West (TPC Stadium) La Quinta, Calif.; Pete Dye (1986) -- $85-$239, pgawest.com
43 of 100 Courtesy of CordeValle
58. CordeValle San Martin, Calif.; Robert Trent Jones Jr. (1999) -- $225-$400, cordevalle.com
44 of 100 No. 16 at Golden Horseshoe Golf Club (Gold) / Larry Lambrecht
57. Golden Horseshoe Golf Club (Gold) Williamsburg, Va.; Robert Trent Jones Sr. (1963) -- $65-$169, colonialwilliamsburg.com
45 of 100 No. 18 at Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club (Ghost Creek) / Rob Perry
56. Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club (Ghost Creek) North Plains, Ore.; Bob Cupp/John Fought (1992) -- $55-$141, pumpkinridge.com
46 of 100 No. 9 at The Harvester Golf Club / Courtesy of The Harvester Golf Club
55. The Harvester Golf Club Rhodes, Iowa; Keith Foster (2000) -- $99-$129, harvestergolf.com
47 of 100 No. 16 at Troon North Golf Club (Monument) / Courtesy of Troon North Golf Club
54. Troon North Golf Club (Monument) Scottsdale, Ariz.; Tom Weiskopf/Jay Morrish (1991) -- $39-$259, troonnorthgolf.com
48 of 100 No. 3 at Dormie Club / Evan Schiller
53. Dormie Club West End, N.C.; Bill Coore/Ben Crenshaw (2010) -- $75-$215, dormieclub.com
49 of 100 No. 14 at The Quarry at Giants Ridge / Courtesy of Giants Ridge
52. The Quarry at Giants Ridge Biwabik, Minn.; Jeff Brauer (2003) -- $62-$89, giantsridge.com
50 of 100 No. 10 at May River Golf Club at Palmetto Bluff / Courtesy of Palmetto Bluff
51. May River Golf Club at Palmetto Bluff Bluffton, S.C.; Jack Nicklaus (2004) -- $175-$260, palmettobluff.com
51 of 100 No. 3 at Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club / Courtesy of Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club
50. Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club Southern Pines, N.C.; Donald Ross (1927) -- $85-$235, pineneedles-midpines.com
52 of 100 No. 3 at The Golf Club at Cuscowilla / Courtesy of Cuscowilla
49. The Golf Club at Cuscowilla Eatonton, Ga.; Bill Coore/Ben Crenshaw (1998) -- #100-$150, cuscowilla.com
53 of 100 No. 2 at Bulle Rock / Courtesy of Bulle Rock
48. Bulle Rock Havre de Grace, Md.; Pete Dye (1998) -- $79-$130, bullerockgolf.com
54 of 100 No. 18 at Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Club (Champ.) / Evan Schiller
47. Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Club (Champ.) Orlando, Fla.; Dick Wilson/Arnold Palmer (1961/2009) -- $100-$275, bayhill.com
55 of 100 No. 5 at Reynolds Plantation (Great Waters) / Courtesy of Reynolds Plantation
46. Reynolds Plantation (Great Waters) Greensboro, Ga.; Jack Nicklaus (1992) -- $159-$245, reynoldsplantation.com
56 of 100 No. 5 at We-Ko-Pa Golf Club (Cholla) / Lonna Tucker
45. We-Ko-Pa Golf Club (Cholla) Fort McDowell, Ariz.; Scott Miller (2001) -- $75-$230, wekopa.com
57 of 100 Joann Dost
44. The Links at Spanish Bay Pebble Beach, Calif.; Robert Trent Jones Jr. (1987) -- $270-$305, pebblebeach.com
58 of 100 Courtesy of Great White Shark Enterprises
43. Red Sky Ranch Golf Club (Norman) Wolcott, Colo.; Greg Norman (2003) -- $205-$250, redskygolfclub.com
59 of 100 Michael Slear, The Brandon Agency
42. Dunes Golf & Beach Club Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Robert Trent Jones Sr. (1948s) -- $75-$225, thedunesclub.net
60 of 100 No. 18 at We-Ko-Pa Golf Club (Saguaro) / Lonna Tucker
41. We-Ko-Pa Golf Club (Saguaro) Fort McDowell, Ariz.; Bill Coore/Ben Crenshaw (2006) -- $75-$230, wekopa.com
61 of 100 No. 18 at The Challenge at Manele / Courtesy of Four Seasons Lanai at Manele Bay
40. The Challenge at Manele Lana'l City, Lana'l, Hawaii; Jack Nicklaus (1993) -- $250-$295, fourseasons.com/manelebay
62 of 100 No. 5 at Taconic Golf Club / Larry Lambrecht
39. Taconic Golf Club Williamstown, Mass.; Wayne Stiles (1928) -- $145, taconicgolf.com
63 of 100 No. 14 at Pronghorn Golf Club & Resort (Nicklaus) / Allen Kennedy
38. Pronghorn Golf Club & Resort (Nicklaus) Bend, Ore.; Jack Nicklaus (2004) -- $70-$210, pronghornclub.com
64 of 100 No. 18 at Arcadia Bluffs Golf Club / Nile Young
37. Arcadia Bluffs Golf Club Arcadia, Mich.; Rick Smith/Warren Henderson (1999) -- $75-$180, arcadiabluffs.com
65 of 100 No. 5 at World Woods (Pine Barrens) / Larry Lambrecht
36. World Woods (Pine Barrens) Brooksville, Fla.; Tom Fazio (1993) -- $40-$119, worldwoods.com
66 of 100 No. 2 at The Highland Course at Primland Resort / Joann Dost
35. The Highland Course at Primland Resort Meadows of Dan, Va.; Donald Steel (2006) -- $50-$220, primland.com
67 of 100 No. 14 at Cog Hill (No. 4) / Larry Lambrecht
34. Cog Hill (No. 4) Lemont, Ill.; Dick Wilson/Rees Jones (1964/2008) -- $155, coghillgolf.com
68 of 100 No. 3 at Mauna Kea Golf Course / Larry Lambrecht
33. Mauna Kea Golf Course Kamuela, Big Island, Hawaii; Robert Trent Jones Sr./Rees Jones (1964/2008) -- $160-$255, princeresortshawaii.com
69 of 100 No. 9 at Dancing Rabbit (Azaleas) / Russell Kirk
32. Dancing Rabbit (Azaleas) Choctaw, Miss.; Tom Fazio/Jerry Pate (1997) -- $60-$130, dancingrabbitgolf.com
70 of 100 Robert Beck
31. Paa-Ko Ridge Golf Club Sandia Park, N.M.; Ken Dye (2000) -- $50-$117, paakoridge.com
71 of 100 No. 1 at Fallen Oak at Beau Rivage Resort / Courtesy of Beau Rivage Resort
30. Fallen Oak at Beau Rivage Resort Biloxi, Miss.; Tom Fazio (2006) -- $200, fallenoak.com
72 of 100 Brian Morgan
29. Trump National Golf Club Los Angeles Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.; Donald J. Trump (2005) -- $160-$280, trumpnationallosangeles.com
73 of 100 No. 16 at Omni Homestead (Cascades) / Courtesy of Omni Homestead
28. Omni Homestead (Cascades) Hot Springs, Va.; William Flynn (1923) -- $195, thehomestead.com
74 of 100 No. 6 at Caledonia Golf & Fish Club / Michael Slear, The Brandon Agency
27. Caledonia Golf & Fish Club Pawleys Island, S.C.; Mike Strantz (1994) -- $90-$200, fishclub.com
75 of 100 No. 10 at Sea Island Golf Club (Seaside) / Courtesy of Sea Island Golf Club
26. Sea Island Golf Club (Seaside) St. Simons Island, Ga.; Colt-Alison/Tom Fazio (1928/1999) -- $250-$325, seaisland.com
76 of 100 No. 10 at Troon North Golf Club (Pinnacle) / Courtesy of Troon North Golf Club
Troon North Golf Club (Pinnacle) Scottsdale, Ariz.; Tom Weiskopf/Jay Morrish (1991) -- $39-$259, troonnorthgolf.com
77 of 100 No. 13 at The Prince at Princeville / Evan Schiller
The Prince at Princeville Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii; Robert Trent Jones Jr. (1991) $165-$250, princeville.com
78 of 100 No. 3 at Torrey Pines Golf Course (South) / John Mummert, USGA
Torrey Pines Golf Course (South) La Jolla, Calif.; William F. Bell/Rees Jones (1957/2001) -- $110-$272, torreypinesgolfcourse.com
79 of 100 Paul Hundley
The 9th hole at Erin Hills, site of the 2017 U.S. Open.
80 of 100 Larry Lambrecht
Forest Dunes Golf Club Roscommon, Mich.; Tom Weiskopf (2002) -- $69-$149, forestdunesgolf.com
81 of 100 No. 5 at Trump National Doral (Blue Monster) / Courtesy of Trump National Doral
Trump National Doral (Blue Monster) Miami, Fla.; Dick Wilson/Gil Hanse (1961/2014) -- $235-$450, trumpgolfdoral.com
82 of 100 No. 8 at Kapalua Resort (Plantation) / Evan Schiller
Kapalua Resort (Plantation) Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii; Bill Coore/Ben Crenshaw (1991) -- $178-$278, golfatkapalua.com
83 of 100 No. 18 at Shadow Creek / John and Jeannine Henebry
Shadow Creek North Las Vegas, Nev.; Tom Fazio/Steve Wynn (1990) -- $500, shadowcreek.com
84 of 100 No. 15 at Chambers Bay Golf Course / John Mummert, USGA
Chambers Bay Golf Course University Place, Wash.; Robert Trent Jones II (2007) -- $99-$239, chambersbaygolf.com
85 of 100 No. 12 at Streamsong Resort (Blue) / Larry Lambrecht
The 12th hole on the Blue Course at Streamsong.
86 of 100 No. 18 at Pasatiempo Golf Club / Rob Babcock
Pasatiempo Golf Club Santa Cruz, Calif.; Alister MacKenzie (1929) -- $230-$262, pasatiempo.com
87 of 100 No. 15 at Blackwolf Run (River) / Paul Hundley
Blackwolf Run (River) Kohler, Wisc.; Pete Dye (1988) -- $270-$300, americanclubresort.com
88 of 100 No. 16 at Bandon Trails / Steven Gibbons, USGA
Bandon Trails Bandon, Ore.; Bill Coore/Ben Crenshaw (2005) -- $75-$295, bandondunesgolf.com
89 of 100 No. 17 at Streamsong Resort (Red) / Larry Lambrecht
Streamsong Resort (Red) Streamsong, Fla.; Bill Coore/Ben Crenshaw (2013) -- $85-$220, streamsongresort.com
90 of 100 No. 3 at Spyglass Hill Golf Course / Joann Dost
Spyglass Hill made the U.S. list but just missed out on the World ranking.
91 of 100 No. 14 at Old Macdonald / Wood Sabold
Old Macdonald Bandon, Ore.; Tom Doak/Jim Urbina (2010) -- $75-$295, bandondunesgolf.com
92 of 100 No. 18 at Harbour Town Golf Links / Rob Tipton Boomkin Productions
Harbour Town Golf Links Hilton Head Island, S.C.; Pete Dye (1969) -- $143-$262, seapines.com
93 of 100 No. 16 at Bandon Dunes / Dan Mirocha, @danmirocha on Instagram
Bandon Dunes Bandon, Ore.; David McLay Kidd (1999) -- $75-$295, bandondunesgolf.com
94 of 100 No. 17 at TPC Sawgrass (Players Stadium) / Chris Condon, PGA Tour
TPC Sawgrass (Players Stadium) Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.; Pete Dye (1980) $300-$495, tpc.com/sawgrass
95 of 100 No. 17 at Whistling Straits Golf Club (Straits) / Larry Lambrecht
Whistling Straits Golf Club (Straits) Haven, Wisc.; Pete Dye (1997) $370-$430, americanclubresort.com
96 of 100 No. 18 at The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Resort / Courtesy of Kiawah Island Resort
The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Resort Kiawah Island, S.C.; Pete Dye (1991) -- $280-$390, kiawahresort.com
97 of 100 No. 17 at Bethpage State Park (Black) / Jim Krajicek
Bethpage State Park (Black) Farmingdale, N.Y.; A.W. Tillinghast (1936) -- $78-$250, nysparks.com
98 of 100 No. 7 at Pinehurst Resort (No. 2) / John Mummert, USGA
Pinehurst Resort (No. 2) Pinehurst, N.C.; Donald Ross (1907) -- $370-$450, pinehurst.com
99 of 100 No. 7 at Pebble Beach Golf Links / John Mummert, USGA
Pebble Beach Golf Links Pebble Beach, Calif.; Jack Neville/Douglas Grant (1919) -- $495-$530, pebblebeach.com
100 of 100 No. 13 at Pacific Dunes / Wood Sabold
Pacific Dunes Bandon, Ore.; Tom Doak (2001) -- $75-$295, bandondunesgolf.com