Environmentally conscious golf courses and golf resorts

1 of 10 Photo provided
The Green Golf Awards Where the environment and your enjoyment can co-exist. These days it's hip to be 'green,' but for years many top golf resorts have been leaders in environmental stewardship. In our first ever 'Green Golf' awards, we applaud these ten properties that have placed a serious emphasis on resource conservation and protection. Kiawah Island Golf Resort Kiawah Island, S.C. 800-654-2924, kiawahresort.com Thanks to its seamless blending into the Lowcountry environment, all five courses plus the grounds at The Sanctuary hotel have recently been certified by Audubon International as Cooperative Sanctuaries.
2 of 10 Photo provided
The Broadmoor Colorado Springs, Colo. 866-837-9520, thebroadmoor.com The initiatives fostered here include a massive recycling program, water use restrictions and the conversion of 50 acres of turf grass to native grasslands and wildflower areas.
3 of 10 Photo provided
Amelia Island Plantation Amelia Island, Fla. 888-261-6161, aipfl.com A master plan that dates to 1971 includes protections for the native tidal marshes, oceanfront dunes, grasslands and savannahs. In addition, the resort created a 40-foot vegetation buffer to allow waterways to remain pristine.
4 of 10 Chris Condon/WireImage
Pebble Beach Golf Links Pebble Beach, Calif. 800-654-9300, pebblebeach.com The list of eco-friendly projects at Pebble Beach is extensive, including protecting Harbor Seal nursery areas and waterfowl habitat, and wastewater reclamation schemes.
5 of 10 Photo provided
Pinehurst Resort Pinehurst, N.C. 800-487-4653, pinehurst.com An early arrival to the green-golf movement, Pinehurst established the Safe Harbor Program way back in 1995, which protected and enhanced habitats for the endangered red-cockaded woodpecker.
6 of 10 Chris Ditto/WireImage
Barton Creek Resort & Spa Austin, Tex. 800-336-6158, bartoncreek.com In 2001, Barton Creek received the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (GCSAA) National Environmental Steward Award. And the efforts of all four courses to provide sanctuary for wildlife led to Audubon certification.
7 of 10 Photo provided
Turning Stone Resort & Casino Verona, N.Y. 800-771-7711, turningstone.com Three of the four courses here — Shenandoah, Sandstone Hollow and Kaluhyat — earned Certified Bronze Audubon Signature Sanctuary status from Audubon International.
8 of 10 Provided by Reynolds Plantation
Reynolds Plantation Greensboro, Ga. 706-467-0600, reynoldsplantation.com In addition to enjoying Audubon certification for four of its golf courses, Reynolds Plantation recently received the Outstanding Business Leadership Award from Rivers Alive, an environmental outreach program that centers on keeping waterways clean.
9 of 10 Photo provided
Mauna Lani Resort Big Island, Hi. 808-885-6622, maunalani.com The resort's three-acre PowerLight photovoltaic system allows Mauna Lani to generate more solar electric power than any resort in the world.
10 of 10 Stan Badz/Getty Images
Kapalua Resort Maui, Hi. 800-527-2582, kapaluamaui.com Both of Kapalua's courses are Certified Audubon Cooperative Sanctuaries, its Pu'u Kukui summit is the largest private nature preserve in Hawaii, and its Honolua and Mokuleia Bays are Hawaii State Marine Life Conservation Districts. • 2008 Premier Resorts Home Page • Platinum Award Resorts List • Gold Award Resorts List • Silver Award Resorts List