British Open courses rota

1 of 14 Fred Vuich

Royal Birkdale

The 2008 Open, won by Padraig Harrington, was the ninth to be decided at this English gem. The 10th will happen in this July for the 2017 Open.
2 of 14 Fred Vuich


Seven Opens have been played on the burly links, which Scottish golfers have voted the toughest in the country. The best players in the world will head back to Carnoustie for the 2018 Open.
3 of 14 David Cannon / Getty Images

Royal Portrush

Portrush will commemorate the Open's return to Northern Ireland in 2019.
4 of 14 David Cannon / Getty Images

Royal St. Georges

Like many of these courses, it is more commonly known by the name of the town in which it is located — has held 14 Opens, including the 2011 edition, won by Darren Clarke. The Open will head back to Sandwich for the 2020 event.
5 of 14 David Cannon / Getty Images


Also known as Royal Liverpool, Hoylake hosted the 2014 Open after making its return to the rotation in 2006 after a 40-year absence.
6 of 14 Richard Heathcote / Getty Images

Royal Lytham & St. Annes

The site of 11 Opens, past champions here include Ernie Els (2012), David Duval (2001) and Seve Ballesteros (1988).
7 of 14 David Cannon / Getty Images


The most recent addition to the rotation of courses debuted in 1977 with the epic "Duel in the Sun" between Tom Watson and Jack Nicklaus. Three subsequent Opens saw wins by Greg Norman (1986), Nick Price (1994) and Stewart Cink (2009) in a playoff over 59-year-old Tom Watson.
8 of 14 Fred Vuich

Royal Troon

Nine times the "Champion golfer of the year" has been decided at this stern test on Scotland's west coast, the most recent being Henrik Stenson in 2016.
9 of 14 Eric Hepworth


The Honorable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, to give the course its formal title, has hosted the Open 16 times, most recently in 2013 when Phil Mickelson triumphed.
10 of 14 Eric Hepworth


Twenty-four Opens have been contested on this quirky links that has long since become obsolete for major championship play. The first 12 Opens were held here, but it hasn't been back since 1925.
11 of 14 Eric Hepworth


Located close to Sandwich, Princes hosted one Open: in 1932 Gene Sarazen was a wire-to-wire winner.
12 of 14 Eric Hepworth


The last of Musselburgh's six Opens saw Willie Park Jr. win in a 36-hole playoff in 1889.
13 of 14 Eric Hepworth


Formally known as Royal Cinque Ports, Deal is the most southerly and least used Open venue — just two titles were contested here. J.H. Taylor won in 1909 and George Duncan in 1920.
14 of 14
The Home of Golf last hosted the Open in 2015, when Zach Johnson claimed his second major. The next Open at St. Andrews has not yet been announced.