Best Texas Tour Courses You Can Play

1 of 7 Courtesy of TPC San Antonio
TPC San Antonio (AT&T Canyons) -- San Antonio Guests of the next-door JW Marriott have access to the current home of the Valero Texas Open. Adam Scott won the first edition played here in 2010, and Rory McIlroy nearly captured the 2013 crown, until Martin Laird beat him with a stunning final-round 63. ($159-$249; 210-491-5800,
2 of 7 Courtesy of TPC San Antonio
TPC San Antonio (AT&T Canyons) -- San Antonio Another Tour-worthy layout available to JW Marriott guests, this Pete Dye/Bruce Lietzke creation is the present venue for the Champions Tour's AT&T Championship, won by Fred Couples in 2011 and by David Frost, in a playoff over Bernhard Langer, in 2012. ($159-$249; 210-491-5800,
3 of 7 Courtesy of Barton Creek
Barton Creek (Fazio Foothills) -- Austin Home to the Senior set's Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf from 1990-1994, the original of Barton Creek's courses saw the teams of Lee Trevino/Mike Hill and Dale Douglass/Charles Coody both win twice. ($150-$250; 512-329-4653,
4 of 7 Courtesy of Westin La Cantera
Westin La Cantera (Resort) -- San Antonio Former University of Texas great Justin Leonard triumphed three times over this Weiskopf/Morrish creation -- twice shooting 19-under-par 261 in the process -- that played host to the Texas Open from 1995 through 2009. ($69-$140; 800-446-5387,
5 of 7 Stan Badz/Getty Images
TPC Four Seasons Las Colinas -- Irving Las Colinas has played host to the HP Byron Nelson Classic since 1983. Since Jay Morrish retrofitted the Las Colinas Sports Club course into a TPC layout in 1987, winners have included Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els and Vijay Singh. ($195; 972-717-2530,
6 of 7 Hunter Martin/Getty Images
Redstone (Tournament) -- Humble A modern bomb-and-gouge track by Rees Jones that's set up at tournament time to mimic Augusta National, its winners since it debuted in 2006 include Phil Mickelson, Adam Scott, Hunter Mahan and Anthony Kim. ($125-$175; 281-459-7800,
7 of 7 Courtesy of Brackenridge Park
Brackenridge Park -- San Antonio This 1915 A.W. Tillinghast-designed muni hosted 21 Texas Opens, beginning with the first edition in 1922. Walter Hagen, Sam Snead and Byron Nelson are among the Hall-of-Famers who captured titles here, but the most historic feat occurred in 1955, when Mike Souchak set the all-time PGA scoring record with a 27-under-par 257. ($50-$75; 210-226-5612,