U.S. Solheim Cup player Lizette Salas given ‘bad time’ for taking 72 seconds to hit shot

September 13, 2019

U.S. Solheim Cup player Lizette Salas was given a bad time during her afternoon four-ball match at Gleneagles in Scotland.

According to the Golf Channel broadcast, Salas took 72 seconds to hit her second shot on the par-4 13th, and with another bad time she would have received a disqualification from the hole. The DQ never came, though, as Salas made par as she and Danielle Kang trailed Suzann Pettersen and Anne van Dam in the afternoon session. Pettersen and van Dam were 4 up through 13.

Lizette Salas lines up a putt during the first day of the Solheim Cup.
Getty Images

The Rules of Golf state a player should make their stroke in no more than 40 seconds, and Rule 6.4 recommends players practice ready golf (by agreement) in match play.

Pace of play was an issue on Friday afternoon at Gleneagles. The four-ball match Salas was in, which was the first of four groups to go off, played the front nine in just under three hours and needed four hours and 10 minutes to get through 13 holes.

You can follow the Solheim Cup here. Europe grabbed an early 2.5-1.5 lead in the morning foursomes session.

To receive GOLF’s all-new newsletters, subscribe for free here.