PGA Championship 2019: Pro hit with two-shot penalty for arriving late to tee time, makes cut on number

May 18, 2019
David Lipsky, 2019 PGA Championship

Pro golfer David Lipsky didn’t do anything special during Friday’s second round of the 2019 PGA Championship. He shot a two-over 72 to move to two-over for the tournament. Then something strange happened: The PGA of America announced that the 30-year-old would be assessed a two-stroke penalty for arriving late to his 12:43 p.m. tee time on Friday afternoon.

The Las Vegas native was reportedly walking toward the first tee with his putter and a ball but was not in the starting area, according to a release sent by the PGA on Friday. This is how the PGA of America defines the starting point of a round:

“For the purpose of applying Rule 5.3a, the starting point for hole #1 and hole #10 is defined by the rope, gallery stakes, green bike fencing and/or blue stakes, blue dots or blue lines.”

The rule further states that the player must be ready to play at the starting time and starting point set by the PGA of America Rules Committee. The starting time is treated by the committee as an exact time that the player must begin.

The penalty for this rule usually results in a disqualification, according to the PGA. However, because Lipsky arrived to the starting point ready to play no more than five minutes late, he was instead assessed a two-stroke penalty on his opening hole.

Therefore, his score moved to four-over par for the tournament. Fortunately for Lipsky, the cut line dropped to four-over mid-day on Friday, and he’ll squeak through to play the weekend at Bethpage Black.

Lipsky’s last win came on the European Tour at the Alfred Dunhill Championship last October. His career-best finish in a major is 58th at the 2015 Open Championship.

Lipsky will be playing alongside Shane Lowry at 8:10 a.m. Saturday morning. Look for him to show up plenty early.

To receive GOLF’s all-new newsletters, subscribe for free here.