TPC Sawgrass Champions: The last 19 Players Championship winners

March 17, 2019
webb simpson

Whether your believe it’s a major or just the best event that isn’t a major, the Players Championship is unquestionably one of the most difficult tournaments to win.

Year after year it hosts one of the strongest fields of the year, and rightfully so it pays out the biggest purse in golf. This year’s purse is $12.5 million. For those reasons alone, it often is cited as criteria that helps a Hall of Fame resume. Need proof? See: Couples, Fred.

In fact, the list of Players champions has everything in it; hall of famers and one-hit-wonders. From Tiger Woods to Stephen Ames and Phil Mickelson to Tim Clark. The last 19 players to triumph at the Players are listed below.

2018: Webb Simpson

2017: Si Woo Kim

2016: Jason Day

2015: Rickie Fowler


Rickie Fowler's 2015 victory came after a flurry of birdies pushed him into a playoff against Sergio Garcia and Kevin Kisner.
Getty Images

2014: Martin Kaymer

2013: Tiger Woods

2012: Matt Kuchar

2011: KJ Choi

2010: Tim Clark

2009: Henrik Stenson

2008: Sergio Garcia


Sergio Garcia's wild career at TPC Sawgrass has at least one highlight: the 2008 Players.
Getty Images

2007: Phil Mickelson

2006: Stephen Ames

2005: Fred Funk

2004: Adam Scott

2003: Davis Love III

2002: Craig Perks

2001: Tiger Woods

2000: Hal Sutton