British-Ireland team set for Walker Cup

ST. ANDREWS, Scotland (AP) — Two Scottish golfers were among the 10 players selected Monday for the Britain-Ireland team that will face the United States in next month’s Walker Cup in Merion, Pa.

Wallace Booth and Gavin Dear helped Scotland win the Eisenhower Trophy in Australia last October. They were chosen for the Sept. 12-13 amateur event with Tommy Fleetwood, Luke Goddard, Matt Haines, Stiggy Hodgson, Sam Hutsby, Niall Kearney, Chris Paisley and Dale Whitnell.

The squad will change only if a British or Irish player wins the U.S. Amateur Championship on Aug. 24-30. The final team will be announced when that tournament ends.

The squad will prepare at Valderrama, Spain, from Aug. 9-12.

Warning: array_map(): Argument #2 should be an array in /opt/app-root/src/wp-content/themes/golf2018/template-parts/content-page-segment-values.php on line 7

Warning: implode(): Invalid arguments passed in /opt/app-root/src/wp-content/themes/golf2018/template-parts/content-page-segment-values.php on line 7