3:06 | Tour & News
Phil Mickelson hits ball in motion, uses Rules to his advantage at Shinnecock
Phil Mickelson took center stage on the 13th hole Saturday when he chased down a putt he hit, and hit the ball again while it was in motion. He earned a 2-shot penalty, but could have very well been DQ'd.
By Kevin Cunningham
Saturday, June 16, 2018

Phil Mickelson did something unthinkable for a player of his stature Saturday at the 2018 U.S. Open, and the golf world (and beyond) is having a field day with it on social media.

Mickelson shockingly and intentionally hit a putt before it stopped moving (one that appeared to be rolling off the green) on the par-4 13th hole. The two-stroke penalty for such a violation gave him a 10 for the hole. Whether it was done out of frustration at his play or anger at the difficult greens at Shinnecock Hills, it was certainly completely unexpected.

People watching — celebrities, to media members and even PGA Tour pros — were downright mystified by Phil's actions. Take a look at a sample of their reactions below.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN