1:04 | Tour & News
Lexi Thompson caught in latest rules controversy
Lexi Thompson was assessed two late penalties during the final round of the LPGA's ANA Inspiration, invoking another rules controversy.
By Michael Bamberger
Tuesday, April 11, 2017

People, desperate to be part of the action, are going to only get more excited about the opportunity to officiate golf tournaments from their Barcaloungers, watching at home on their HD TVs, zooming in on dimples until they look like craters on the moon. The Lexi Thompson ball-marking debacle will embolden others, and we live in an era when everybody wants to have a voice. “You da man,” vile though it was, now almost seems quaint.
Sergio Garcia in the trees on 13 on Sunday, fiddling with pine needles, evidently brought in calls to Augusta National from viewers who thought his ball had moved. It reached enough of a crescendo that Jim Nantz, in the CBS telecast, wisely, and surely at the direction of Augusta National officials, informed his vast viewing audience that the situation had been reviewed by rules officials and that no penalty would be imposed. That was clearly the correct call for two reasons.

Tour & News
Inside the alleged rules snafu that could have derailed Sergio's Masters victory

A rules infraction called in by a television viewer cost Lexi Thompson a major win.
Getty Images

But that view does not show a keen understanding of the intent of the rules. A player should want the scrutiny that comes with playing on TV because the player is not trying to get away with anything. The player should want to turn in the most accurate scorecard he or she can, with help from anybody who's watching.

Tour & News
Lexi given 4-stroke penalty after TV viewer spots rules violation, loses in playoff

Also, the player should, and likely does, recognize that playing golf on TV is a privilege. It likely means you're playing well, and, in professional golf, for prize money. TV, and TV viewers, make those purses possible.
But that’s just a side note. Garcia was proceeding cautiously and his ball never moved, not that he could have possibly detected. His situation was addressed.
There will be a next time and a next time and a time after that. Over time, it will become boring to hear about. It will sound unsporting. But, hard though it is to accept if you’re watching golf as you watch the NFL and the NBA, tournament golf is a completely different thing. The player should welcome any information from any source—at any time—that helps him or her be more compliant with the rules.
By the way, the only reason Woods was allowed to keep playing in the 2013 Masters after he described in a post-round interview the incorrect drop he took is because a TV caller had called in about the drop, and Augusta National officials decided to take no action on it. A TV viewer actually saved him that year.

You May Like