Lexi Thompson and So Yeon Ryu both finished 14 under at the ANA Inspiration, but Ryu won the LPGA’s first major of the season by beating Thompson in a playoff. But it didn’t get to that point without controversy.
Thompson was issued a four-stroke penalty as she walked off the 12th hole Sunday for playing her ball from the wrong spot on the 17th hole Saturday. Thompson was issued a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place and two more strokes for signing the incorrect scorecard on Saturday. A viewer emailed the LPGA Sunday, notifying the organization of Thompson’s rule infraction from Saturday.
Pro golfers, of course, chimed in on social media in support of Thompson.
Viewers at home should not be officials wearing stripes. Let's go @Lexi, win this thing anyway.— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) April 3, 2017
Really hoping @lexi goes birdie birdie last 2 holes!!! See deserves this! Lucky to know her. She's nothing but a stand up person!!— Billy Horschel (@BillyHo_Golf) April 3, 2017
Who the F#*k is sitting at home zooming in on that stuff??— Shane Lowry (@ShaneLowryGolf) April 3, 2017
LETS GOOOO!!!! @Lexi— Bud Cauley (@BudCauley) April 3, 2017
LEXI LEXI LEXI!!!!— India Clyburn (@indyclyburn) April 3, 2017
Clutch shot from @Lexi! Let's go!!!— Dana Finkelstein (@Dana_Fink) April 3, 2017