By Eamon Lynch
Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Defending champion Tiger Woods will begin his bid for a third straight Open Championship on Thursday morning in a group that includes the man who won the Open the last time it was held at Carnoustie: Scotland's Paul Lawrie. They will be joined on the first tee by England's Justin Rose at 9:09 AM local time, 4:09 AM EST. Their second round begins Friday at 9:20 AM EST.

Among other notable groups: Phil Mickelson, fresh off a playoff defeat in the Scottish Open on Sunday, goes off at 9:20AM EST with Toru Taniguchi and the former European No. 1 Lee Westwood. Ernie Els, the 2002 Open champ, is out with Swede Robert Karlsson and American Lucas Glover at 7:36 AM EST, and newly crowned U.S. Open champion Angel Cabrera is with Rory Sabbatini and Sean O'Hair at 8:09 AM EST. (A complete list of pairings and tee times is here).

World No. 2 Jim Furyk plays at 8:31 AM EST alongside Niclas Fasth and Nick Dougherty, the young Englishman who briefly led the Open at Oakmont earlier this summer. The man who finished second to Woods two years ago at St. Andrews, local favorite Colin Montgomerie, goes off two groups behind Woods with Toshi Izawa and Stewart Cink.

\nChad Campbell and Johan Edfors can expect to hear lots of jokes about packing tissues before their tee time Thursday afternoon: they are playing with Sergio Garcia, who famously wept after shooting a first round 89 in the Open here eight years ago.

You May Like