Tiger Woods and the Drop Heard 'Round the World

Tiger Woods makes an incorrect drop during the 2013 Masters.
John W. McDonough For Sports Illustrated

The holy grail of rules incidents, Tiger Woods was penalized two strokes after-the-fact for making an illegal drop on the 15th hole in the second round of the 2013 Masters, despite having signed an incorrect scorecard, which normally leads to a disqualification. Woods did not know he had broken a rule, and it was only when the Augusta officials investigated it after the round that the violation was noticed. Why wasn't he disqualified? Augusta officials cited relatively new Rule 33 that states "that disqualification can be waived at the committee's discretion."

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN