Tour & News

Is the Ryder Cup an Annual Event?

Photo: PGA of America

The 2016 Ryder Cup trophy will be awarded Sunday, October 2nd at Hazeltine Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota.

The Ryder Cup is golf’s prestigious match play competition between the United States and Europe. It is held every two years with each team alternating as host, and consists of 12-member teams competing in five match play showdowns over the course of three days. It incorporates best-ball and alternate shot formats on the first two days, and singles matches on the third and final day.

Europe has dominated the event recently, having won at Gleneagles Resort in Perthshire, Scotland in 2014, as well as the two preceeding Cups in 2012 and 2010. The United States leads the all-time series 25-13-2. The 2016 Ryder Cup will be played at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota, from Sept. 30 to Oct. 2.

What Davis Love III Learned From the 2012 Ryder Cup
Team USA Ryder Cup captain Davis Love III tells GOLF LIVE's Ryan Asselta what he learned from coaching in 2012 and attempts to explain why the Europeans have dominated in recent years. 
More From the Web

More Tour & News