Every Sunday night, the editorial staff of the SI Golf Group conducts an e-mail roundtable. Check in every week for the unfiltered opinions of our writers and editors and join the conversation in the comments section below.
John Garrity, contributing writer, Sports Illustrated: Lots of golf on this Memorial Day weekend, but let's start with Zach Johnson's victory that nearly wasn't. He forgot to return his coin to its original position after moving his ball for Dufner on 18, turning a three-stroke victory into a one-stroke win. Should CBS's Peter Kostis -- who noticed the omission -- have shouted out a warning before Zach putted out?
Damon Hack, senior writer, Sports Illustrated: No. That's on Zach and his caddie.
Alan Shipnuck, senior writer, Sports Illustrated: He might have if the outcome was truly going to be affected. But it's tough to shout it out in real-time when the whole state has become hushed.
Mark Godich, senior editor, Sports Illustrated: If the outcome was going to be affected? Turns out, Zach had to make a five-footer. Otherwise, they were in a playoff.
Ryan Reiterman, senior producer, Golf.com: Absolutely not. And Zach should take a lesson from Tiger. Flip a coin over to the opposite side to remind yourself to move it back.
Stephanie Wei, contributor, SI Golf+: I feel like it was weird that he completely forgot. I know that I would have been repeating to myself over and over, "remember to move the coin back, remember to move the coin back."
Jeff Ritter, senior producer, Golf.com: I don't think so, but then again, if it's acceptable for TV viewers to phone in and point out penalties ...
David Dusek, deputy editor, Golf.com: It's not the job of a media member to point out the rules or remind a player about something like that while the competition is still happening. I'm sure Zach got caught up in thinking about winning, forgot he'd moved his marker, and that's it. Johnson's a pro, and so is Kostis, and they both have a job to do.
Mike Walker, senior editor, Golf Magazine: Interesting question, but I don't think the announcers should get involved in the tournament while the action is unfolding.
Godich: So, if a player asks an on-course reporter where another player stands, what should the reporter say?
Reiterman: "Look at that giant scoreboard over there."
Rick Lipsey, writer-reporter, Sports Illustrated: Good thing somebody spoke up before Zach signed his card, or he'd have been front-page news for all the wrong reasons.
Tell us what you think in the comments section below: Should Peter Kostis have warned Zach Johnson about a possible rules infraction before he putted?
Garrity: In Fort Worth, Jason Dufner's "Three Wins and a Wedding" screenplay turned into "Cowboy Chainsaw Massacre" when he tripled the 15th to hand Zach Johnson his second Crown Plaza Colonial title. Was Dufner simply worn out from a month of tournament leads and wedding cake in the face? Or is he not quite the unflappable fellow that his deadpan demeanor suggests?
Godich: I'm cool with Duf. He just ran out of gas. That Texas heat will suck the energy right out of you.
Shipnuck: I'm sure the Duf is exhausted. A wedding can kick anybody's butt. Sandwich two victories around it, and it's remarkable he was even in contention this week.
Godich: The grind wasn't any easier playing against a guy like Zach Johnson, who spent the weekend getting up and down from all over Fort Worth.
Jim Gorant, senior editor, Sports Illustrated: I agree he must be gassed, but at the same time I don't think he's as good long-term as he's looked the last month.
Jim Herre, managing editor, SI Golf Group: That was one of the ugliest finishes I've seen in years. Johnson hardly distinguished himself, either. How can a Tour player get a brain-dead two-stroke penalty like he did on the 72nd hole?
Godich: And they played out of order from the tee. Imagine if Dufner had made his putt and Johnson had missed.
Dusek: Dufner got paired with exactly the wrong player. Zach Johnson wasn't going to wilt at Colonial, and one really bad hole ended up costing Dufner the third win. We already know he's not unflappable because he should have won the 2011 PGA Championship going away last year. But Jason's still on a monstrous hot streak in my mind.
Hack: Duf gets a pass. There isn't a guy out there who doesn't have a triple in his bag, especially after the run he's been on. The fumes probably ran out.
Godich: The fact that he made a bogey, a double and a triple with a short iron or a sand wedge in his hand over a seven-hole stretch pretty much says it all. This from a guy who was dialed in for three rounds and eight holes.
Lipsey: Two wins and a second in four starts? That's a career for 99.99 percent of guys who ever play the game. Dufner is just fine.
Wei: Getting married, being in contention and winning twice would wear anyone down. I'd chalk it up to fatigue and the sauna-like conditions down in Texas. He ended up only losing by one with his C-game. Good to see him hang in there.
Tell us what you think in the comments section below: Was Dufner worn out, or is he not as unflappable as we think?