J.B. Holmes started his final round at the WGC-Cadillac Championship in a head-scratching manner, for himself and everyone else following along.
After Holmes' opening tee shot found the hazard, the 33-year-old took an incorrect drop, which a rules official later said was a "serious breach."
Holmes took an "opposite margin" drop that meant he had to drop within two club lengths of the hazard, but he instead went back about 25 yards to hit his next shot. A rules official told him on the green about his error. The on-course reporter (in the video below) summarizes it as saying Holmes took the hybrid option, combining two different drop options into one.
Holmes was penalized two strokes and went back to where his original drop was to finish the hole. If he would have teed off on the second hole without correcting his mistake he would have been disqualified. Holmes double-bogeyed the par-5 and finished with an 8-over 80 and in 59th place.
Watch the video below to get the telecast's explanation of what happened. It's also worth nothing Holmes' situation was so confusing that he even perplexed the staffers who were creating the graphics.