Hot Links

Ernie Els Yips, Misses One-Foot Putt at the Dunhill Links

Rules Guy: I Played the Wrong Ball After Mine Was Already In
Golf Magazine's Rules Guy answers reader queries. My teammate played the wrong ball after already holing out. Is that a penalty?

Even golf legends can get the yips -- and the latest victim is Ernie Els.

We've seen Tiger Woods go through the chip-yips, and in Michael Bamberger’s book “Men in Green” he refers to a time when Ben Hogan wasn’t even able to bring the putter back during a tournament.

But Els' missed short putt during the Dunhill Links Championship on Thursday was something we haven’t seen for quite some time. The yips strike again -- and this time to a four-time major winner.

You can watch the putt below. You'll notice Els' right wrist twitch right before he makes contact with the ball, which pushes the putt right of the hole.

 

 

More From the Web

More Hot Links