Tour & News

Edoardo Molinari DQ'd Because His Caddie Took Cart to Tee

Photo: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

Edoardo Molinari of Italy plays a shot during the final round of the 2015 Tshwane Open at Pretoria Country Club in South Africa.

File this under bizarre penalties on the golf course.

Italy's Edoardo Molinari was disqualified from the European Tour's Shenzhen International on Friday after failing to include a strange penalty on his round of 75 Thursday; his caddie hopped a golf cart between the ninth and 10th tees, but Molinari didn't see it.

Molinari tweeted his frustration early Friday morning.

 

Molinari later followed up that had he reported it, he would have only incurred a two-stroke penalty and would not have been disqualified. He signed for a 75, which was what he thought he shot, instead of a 77.

 

Looks like another case study for GOLF Magazine's Rules Guy.

Rules Guy: Is There a Penalty for Hitting from the Wrong Tee?
My partner accidentally teed off on the wrong hole. What's the penalty?

For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @golf_com on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.

More From the Web

More Tour & News